PRD's PRIMA Party, five others fail first stage of election verification process

Source – October 14, 2022
Agus Jabo Priyono (centre) speaking at PRIMA declaration in Jakarta – July 6, 2021 (Antara)

Vitorio Mantalean, Jakarta – The People's Justice and Prosperity Party (PRIMA) claims it will submit a challenge against the General Election Commission (KPU) with the Elections Supervisory Board (Bawaslu).

Earlier, the KPU announced that 18 political parties hoping to contest the 2024 legislative and presidential elections had passed the administrative verification stage. PRIMA was not among them.

PRIMA General Chairperson Agus Jabo Priyono said that the challenge with Bawaslu would be submitted within the next three days after they have received an official notification from the KPU.

"We are convinced that Bawaslu will accept our challenge", said Priyono in an official release on Friday October 14.

"Because based on the data which we have, the administrative documents that we handed over to the KPU were complete and exceeded the minimal requirements [to participate in an election], 34 provinces, 423 regencies and cities, 3,436 sub-districts 327,298 members", he reiterated.

Priyono raised the issue of the president set during the 2019 elections when there were political parties which had earlier failed to pass the KPU's administrative verification process but was then passed after winning a challenge with the Bawaslu.

In the end, the Working Party and the Garuda Party were able to take part in the 2019 elections (Pemilu).

"The Working Party and the Garuda Party also once failed to pass the administrative stage before the 2019 Pemilu. After there was a challenge with Bawaslu, they the fulfilled the requirements", said Priyono.

Furthermore, Priyono is asking PRIMA's members and sympathisers at the sub-district level to remain calm and be sure that the party will be eligible to take part in the 2024 elections.

"While waiting for the legal process which will be pursued by the DPP (Central Leadership Board), we also appeal for the PRIMA structure and members to continue preparing themselves to face the factual verification [stage]", he said.

According to the results of the administrative verification as contained in KPU Announcement Number 9/PL.01.1-Pu/05/2022, only 18 out of 24 political parties were declared to have passed and therefore can go on to the next stage.

Nine of these parties will undergoes a factual verification while the other nine are automatically eligible to take part in the elections because they already have members in the House of Representatives (DPR).

The six political parties announced by the KPU as failing to pass the administrative verification stage are:

1. The Voice of the Indonesian People's Party (Parsindo, failed to pass stage 1 of the administrative verification)
2. The Republican Party (failed to pass stage 1 of the administrative verification)
3. The Indonesian My Republic Party (failed to pass stage 1 of the administrative verification)
4. The One Republic Party (failed to pass stage 1 of the administrative verification)
5. The PRIMA Party
6. The Indonesian Justice and Unity Party (PKP Indonesia)

The following 18 political parties were declared to have passed the administrate verification stage:

1. The United Development Party (PPP)
2. The National Awakening Party (PKB)
3. The Indonesian Democratic Party of Struggle (PDI-P)
4. The National Democrat Party (Nasdem)
5. The Democrat Party
6. The National Awakening Party (PAN)
7. The Greater Indonesia Movement Party (Gerindra)
8. The Indonesian Solidarity Party (PSI)
9. The Golkar Party
10. The United Indonesia Party (Perindo)
11. The National Populist Party (PKN)
12. The Justice and Prosperity Party (PKS)
13. The Indonesian People's Wave Party (Gelora)
14. The Crescent Star Party (PBB)
15. The People's Conscience Party (Hanura)
16. The Islamic Community Party (Partai Ummat)
17. The Labour Party (Partai Buruh)
18. The Indonesian Reform Movement Party (Partai Garuda)


The PRIMA party is the electoral vehicle of the People's Democratic Party (PRD). The list of political parties which did pass the administrative verification process was taken from a separate article published on the same day.

[Translated by James Balowski. The original title of the article was "Tak Lolos Verifikasi Administrasi, PRIMA Akan Gugat KPU ke Bawaslu".]