Thousands of protesters to target Yudhoyono’s inauguration

Source – October 20, 2009
Protest against SBY and Boediono government (Tribune)
Protest against SBY and Boediono government (Tribune)

Hery Winarno, Jakarta – The inauguration of Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono (SBY) and Boediono as the president and vice president of the Republic of Indonesia for the period 2009-2014 will be the target of thousands of protesters. Scores of mass organisations will hold protest actions in front of the House of Representatives (DPR) building.

As reported by the Metro Jaya regional police Traffic Management Center (TMC) on Tuesday October 20, the demonstrators will arrives in waves at the DPR building on Jl. Gatot Soebroto, Jakarta.


1. Indonesian Trade Union Congress Alliance (KASBI): FBSKU, SPEK, GSBN, PROGRESIF, Jamsostek Workers Union-RMM (SPJ-RMM), National Solidarity Committee (KSN), Working People’s Association (PRP), Indonesian Independent Union (SMI), JGM, Carrefour Indonesia Trade Union (SPCI) and Gemerik Trade Union (SP Gemerik).

2. Street Parliament Alliance: Indonesian Poor People’s Union (SRMI), Indonesian Student League for Democracy (LMND), Indonesian National Front for Labour Struggle (FNPBI), Betawi Traditional Buggy Struggle Front (PPDB), Volunteers of the People’s Struggle for the Liberation of the Motherland (SPARTAN), Jakarta Artists, National Liberation Party of Unity (Papernas) and the Political and Social Sciences Institute Union (IISIP) Students Association.

3. People’s Alliance for the SBY Current (ARSBY-ARUS).


1. People’s Struggle Committee (KPR): Workers Challenge Alliance (ABM), Greater Jakarta Workers Federation of Struggle (FPBJ), Indonesian Student Union (SMI), KPOP, Indonesian Transportation Trade Union of Struggle (SBTPI), GESBURI, Solidarity Alliance for Labour Struggle (GSPB), Indonesian Buskers Union (SPI), Union for the Politics of the Poor (PPRM), Greater Jakarta Railway Workers Trade Union (SPKAJ), the Independent Trade Union (SBI), Karawang Peasants Union (SEPETAK) and the Agrarian Reform Consortium (KPA).

2. People’s Struggle Front (FPR): Migrant Care, Association of Independent Trade Unions (GSBI), All Indonesia Workers Organisation (OPSI), Indonesia Workers Solidarity (SBB), Cengkareng Labour Forum (FBC), Indonesian Workers Association (ATKI), National Students Front (FMN), Bung Karno University Student Movement Centre (CGM-UBK), Indonesian Christian Students Movement (GMKI), Indonesian Association of Catholic Students (PMKRI), Indonesian Buddhist Students Association (Hikmahbudhi), Bekasi Youth League (LPB), Indonesia People’s Movement (GRI) and Green Indonesia Union (SHI).

3. Greater Jakarta Student Action Union (KAMRJ): Islamic State University (UIN), Bung Karno University (UBK), APP, BSI Bekasi and the Victims of the Palimanan Toll Road Construction (Cirebon).

4. University of Indonesia Student Executive Council (BEM-UI).

5. Indonesian Muslim Students Action Front (KAMMI): Jakarta, Bekasi, Depok, Bogor, Banten, Purwokerto, Socialist Youth and Students Movement, At-Tahiriyah.

6. Red-and-White Movement (GPM): KM LASKI, Jakarta Muhammadiyah University (UMJ), Atma Jaya University (UAJ), Muhammadiyah Prof. Dr. Hamka University (UHAMKA), Borobudur University (BU) and Jayabaya University (JU).

7. Joint Forum: National Forum of Young Indonesians (FKPI), Youth Movement Network (JAMPER), RPM, Christian University of Indonesia (UKI), Indonesian Administration Foundation Student Action Front (FAM-YAI), Volunteers of Democracy in Struggle (REPDEM), Gunadharma University (Gunadharma), Pro-Democracy Activists (PRODEM), Anti-Debt Coalition (KAU), Indonesian National Students Movement (GMNI), People’s Democratic Defense (Bendera), Democrat Youth Front (BMD), National Gathering of 1998 Activists (PENA 98).

8. All Indonesia Student Executive Council: Padjadjaran University (Unpad), Jakarta State University (UNJ), Islamic State University (UIN), Surabaya Institute of Technology (ITS), University of Airlingga (Unair), UK Petra, August 17 University (Untag), University of Wijaya Kusuma (UWK), University of Diponegoro (Undip) and Indonusa Esa Unggul University (UNESA).


1. Jakarta Workers Federation of Struggle (FPBJ)
2. Arrest the BLBI Corruptors People’s Alliance (ARTK-BLBI)
3. Indonesian Student’s Forum (FMI)

In addition to the protest actions during Yudhoyono’s inauguration, the TMC also notes that there will be an demonstration in support of the Corruption Eradication Commission (KPK). Organised by the Anti Corruption Youth and Students Action Network (JAM’S), the protest is planned to start at 12noon in front of the KPK building on Jl. Rasuna Said in South Jakarta. JAM’S is made up of elements from the Borobudur University Community of Students (KM-UB), the Trisakti Student Action Front (FAM Trisakti), the August 17 University Community of Students (KM-Untag), the Anti Corruption Volunteers (RAK), the Anti Corruption Youth Movement (GPAK) and the Anti Corruption Functional Youth (PKAK). (her/irw)

[Translated by James Balowski.]